So this weekend is the Catholic Service Agencies appeal. Which means that instead of a homily, this evening we listened to a taped recording of the Bishop appealing.

[Is this even permissible given the restrictions of De Musica Sacra? Leaving that question aside for now.]

[Also leaving aside the cheesy “intro” music. Ok the music wasn’t cheesy in itself – but any music would have been cheesy there.]

Anyway.

In setting up the sound system to play this CD, I have no idea what they did, but when I began to play the organ, anything played in the pedals was SUPER LOUD, while the main manual (upon which I play the melody) was very soft.

I think my cantor and I (we were already having a rough day) deserve a medal for not pursuing with grill forks the people who set up the sound system.

 

